Special birthday celebration

In her splendidly quality fashion, LB gave me a surprise progressive birthday celebration Friday evening.

We began with a sunset bottle of Petite Syrah on our balcony overlooking Smathers Beach and the Atlantic Ocean.

Then we drove to Cafe Sole, a gourmet vegetarian restaurant where I had fresh Yellowtail Snapper, brown rice and a tasty Wasabi sauce.

We shopped at art galleries on Duval as we walked to Better than Sex for exotic desserts and drinks. My Choco-Port glass of Taylor Tawny was rimmed with chocolate. Yum! LB had Choco-Cab, which was incredibly delicious. She surprised me with a candled Tongue Bath Truffle dessert, their only gluten-free selection.

Finally we landed at the Chart Room in the Pier House. There’s a lot of history and literature in this small, hidden bar; you can feel it and see it in the navigational charts that cover the ceiling! Besides Valerie, our wonderful bartender, they set out a barrel of salted peanuts in the shell, fresh popcorn, and hot dogs in a crock pot. All for the taking. Wine is quite reasonable for the pour. It felt like home in what I imagine one of my sons’ living rooms could be like… extremely inspiring and visionary.

Dennis, an attorney from Long Island there for a criminal law conference, came over to talk to us. He slowly gravitated to my bar chair (at a small raised bar table) and leaned down to ask some questions (we were on wine and music). LB slipped away and Dennis and I talked for awhile. We said sweet goodbyes without any exchange of information or a kiss, which LB said I had the perfect moment to plant. But that’s ok… I was safe in multiple ways. I’m healing; he’s married; what’s this “guy” thing like anyway? 🙂 It was my first strong male connection and it ended in victory from my perspective!

Today’s photo set was icing on my gluten-free birthday cake day. With the right guy taking care of my newness, I think I would like it!

Yay!
~ Jane

Seconds later, a relaxed Jane!

Seconds later, a relaxed Jane!

My goodness, this doesn't hurt anymore!

My goodness, where is this big boy going?!

Leave a comment