Naples, Skyline & a new do

I had not had my hair done in nearly four months. Shelli Jent in Owasso was my stylist then as she had been throughout my transition. She is amazing, finally bringing me out from under my Jane-head wig that August day with a cute bob that covered and then flipped under my ears. (Contact me to reach her.) With honey-blond highlights in my no-gray, angel-fine hair, just the right natural wave on both sides of my face, and the existing part defining the flows, I was so excited to receive the resulting encouragement from Royal and the Polo Grill staff. For the preceding few months, I only wore my wig while waitressing, which was around eight shifts a week. So after that August day I stored my quick-fix security-blanket Paula Young wig and added another layer of womanhood… doing my hair daily. It has been a joy even though I could never duplicate Shelli’s work. (That’s a familiar refrain!)

Wow… I’m writing this from a bench on the 12 Avenue pier in Naples, Florida and below me a dolphin has just graciously arched itself up out of the water! Naples is the southernmost home of Cincinnati’s Skyline Chili, IMHO the standard of Greek-style chili. So I indulged in a pasta-free lunch of chili, beans, onions, cheese and sour cream and then walked about 15 blocks to the pier through upscale clothing shops and Italian restaurants. This was great exercise for my recovering self and a lot of fun… Most of my walking was on the long, pristine, public access beach and there were such interesting people to observe! Rebecca methodically collected seashells on this beach around 15 years ago when we were in Ft Meyers for Benjamin’s select baseball national tournament!

Back to my hair…
I have a new hairdo!
Yesterday Debbie Pettit, a great hair stylist and electrologist from West Virginia who lives in the Ft Meyers’ area this part of the year, brought her tools to LB’s and my hotel room and gave me a cut & style with highlights! It was the first time we met and we connected! She is so interesting and she honored me so wonderfully! I honestly felt like royalty, to have someone as professional and gifted as Debbie make a house/hotel call to serve me! Wow…

Life is good!

Love,
~ Jane

My hair renewed!

My hair renewed!