Pushing through the pain

No pain, no gain. Playing through the pain. I’m familiar with these axioms and am carefully reading my body to ensure the continuous surgery-area pain the last two days has been healing pain. So I’m pushing through the pain, expectantly.

So much is coming together in my body right now. It’s been three weeks since my GRS and at five to six weeks incision areas should be healed and nerve synapses should be firing. There’s a long way to go because I’m numb to the touch and have this surgical-site constant burning pain.

It’s painful to sit, stand and walk. Whenever I sense or imagine anything coming near my surgical site (like walking on Duval Street!) I cringe in pain. When I look down to the pool from our 6th floor balcony I cringe in pain. And when I see anyone doing anything that would be disruptive to me if I were doing it I cringe in pain! I think it’s called Extreme Reverse Sympathy Pain! 🙂

I just upgraded to a larger stent (“That’s going inside me?!?!”), which has NOT helped the pain level!

Back to pushing through the pain, my daughter Laura drew the attached Lady Gaga’s butterfly message for me and gave it to me before she left California. Along with Jules’ Oriental vase, Zach’s End US1 sketch, and Beth Sweigart’s print of my inviting lover, Laura’s night-and-day framed piece enters my fledgling art collection!

Love,
~ Jane

Daughter Laura's California message to me

Daughter Laura’s California message to me

Leave a comment